Nature observation

Exceptional natural areas close to home and at little cost (or completely free!) await nature lovers, young and old. Come take fully advantage of the site where wellness, health and nature go hand in hand!

INFORMATION

To ensure the sustainability of species, picking flowers and any other collection are strictly prohibited at the Fernand-Seguin ecological center, as are off-trail traffic and bicycle traffic. Domestic animals are also prohibited on this natural territory.

Cockspur Hawthorn
Crataegus crus-galli

Northern Leopard Frog
Lithobates pipiens

Owing to its noble and distinctive tree species, and its rich biodiversity in general, the forest of the Fernand-Seguin ecology centre has substantial ecological value. However, it is a sugar maple-hickory stand that first and foremost distinguishes the Fernand-Seguin ecology centre. This forest is typical of southwestern Québec and is particularly valuable in terms of ecology considering that similar areas have given way to urbanization in the Greater Montréal region. Sugar maples dominate the area, followed by shagbark and bitternut hickory. Several other species add to the diversity of these woods, such as butternut, basswood and ironwood.

The fallow fields bordering the woods are a legacy of agricultural times. Wild plant species now thrive in peace next to luxuriant bushes, such as the rare cockspur hawthorn, which grows almost exclusively in Châteauguay, Léry and Kahnawake.

In the spring, the undergrowth of the sugar maple-hickory stand transforms into an utterly magical garden where trillium and trout lilies are briefly in bloom in a spectacular display of beauty!

This wonderful mix of plant species provides shelter and abundant food for wildlife.

Birds

Over a hundred species of birds can be observed at the ecology centre. In addition to woodpeckers, wrens, hawks, buzzards and owls, there are forest species that come for shelter, such as ovenbirds and wood thrushes whose bird calls and songs are often heard. Lastly, the popular chickadees and nuthatches are never shy to land on a hiker’s hand to peck at a few seeds or nuts.

Other wildlife species

Even though wildlife is somewhat harder to spot here than at the wildlife sanctuary, racoons, red foxes, Eastern cottontails and bats are in the area, along with small rodents, amphibians and reptiles: squirrels, chipmunks, voles, mice, toads, green frogs, tree frogs, salamanders and garter snakes.

Red fox
Vulpes vulpes

257, rue Fernand-Seguin

Châteauguay, Québec

J6K 0K3

phone number: 450 698-3133

e-mail: info@heritagestbernard.qc.ca

2020 ALL RIGHT RESERVED | HÉRITAGE SAINT-BERNARD

EN

Observation de
la nature

Des territoires naturels d’exception s’offrent aux amants de la nature, petits et grands, à proximité de la maison et gratuitement. Profitez-en abondamment, car bien-être, santé et nature sont intimement liés.

INFORMATION

Pour assurer la pérennité des espèces, la cueillette de fleurs et tout autre prélèvement sont strictement interdits au centre écologique Fernand-Seguin, tout comme la circulation hors sentier et la circulation en vélo. Les animaux domestiques sont aussi interdits sur ce territoire naturel.

Aubépine ergot-de-coq
Crataegus crus-galli

Grenouille léopard
Lithobates pipiens

En raison des essences d’arbres nobles et distinctives qui la constituent, et grâce à sa riche biodiversité en général, la forêt du centre écologique Fernand-Seguin possède une grande valeur écologique. Mais c’est d’abord et avant tout l’érablière à caryers qui distingue le centre écologique Fernand-Seguin. Cette forêt est typique du sud-ouest du Québec et possède une valeur d’autant plus grande au point de vue écologique puisque les superficies semblables ont fait place à l’urbanisation dans la grande région de Montréal. L’Érable à sucre domine les lieux, suivi des Caryers ovale et cordiforme. Plusieurs autres essences viennent compléter la richesse de ce boisé : Noyers cendrés, Tilleuls d’Amérique, Ostryers de Virginie, entre autres.

Les champs en friche bordant le boisé sont l’héritage d’une époque où l’agriculture était pratiquée. Désormais, les espèces floristiques champêtres s’y épanouissent en pleine quiétude tout en voisinant des arbustes luxuriants, tels la rare Aubépine ergot-de-coq, presque exclusive à Châteauguay, Léry et Kahnawake.

Au printemps, le sous-bois de l’érablière à caryers se transforme en un jardin complètement féérique où trilles et érythrones y fleurissent pour une courte période, offrant un spectacle d’une grande beauté!

Cet amalgame d’espèces floristiques propose des abris et de la nourriture en abondance pour la faune.

Oiseaux

Plus d’une centaine d’espèces d’oiseaux fréquente le centre écologique Fernand-Seguin. En plus des pics, troglodytes, éperviers, buses et chouettes, des espèces forestières trouvent refuge à cet endroit, comme la Paruline couronnée et la Grive des bois, que l’on entend fréquemment. Finalement, les populaires mésanges et sittelles n’hésitent jamais à venir se poser dans les mains des randonneurs pour y picorer quelques graines ou noix.

Autres espèces

Bien que la faune soit un peu moins facile à observer qu’au refuge faunique, Ratons laveurs, Renards roux, Lapins à queue blanches et chauve-souris fréquentent le site, tout comme les petits rongeurs, les amphibiens et reptiles : écureuils, tamias, campagnols, souris, crapauds, grenouilles, rainettes, salamandres et couleuvres.

Renard roux
Vulpes vulpes

257, rue Fernand-Seguin

Châteauguay, Québec

J6K 0K3

téléphone: 450 698-3133

courriel: info@heritagestbernard.qc.ca

2020 TOUS DROITS RÉSERVÉ | HÉRITAGE SAINT-BERNARD

FR